Browsing All Posts published on »January 4th, 2012«

The Patriarchy Strikes Again

January 4, 2012 by

30

From ABC News: Women are lagging behind men in the nation’s slow economic recovery, new government statistics show. Of the 1.3 million jobs created in the last 12 months, some 90 percent have gone to men, according to a report from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Women have gained just 149,000 jobs. ABC attempts to […]

Sloth

January 4, 2012 by

24

I've been away for a while, and I've had a chance to visit with many friends, relatives, and acquaintances on both sides of the Atlantic. It's given me much to ponder, and left me feeling a bit discouraged. People are really freaking lazy.

Social Disconnection and the Severing of Intimate Connections

January 4, 2012 by

29

As 2011 closed, I offered two posts of quotes from respected essayist and social commentator Wendell Berry, whose writings were the lion’s share of my reading during the holiday lull.  Reading his book, “Sex, Economy, Freedom, and Community”, it became clearer why I find his perspective so refreshing. How often have we heard the connection […]