It’s Not Fair

Posted on July 19, 2011 by


My children have a book that’s called “It’s Not fair”. Each page has a different child in a different situation saying “It’s not fair”…usually the situations are silly and the moral is that they focus so much on what the other person has that they are blinded to their own blessings. I have this problem with my children all the time. IE We have 1 banana and 1 peach. One child asks “Can I have a banana.” Other child scraems THAT ISNT FAIR I WANTED THE LAST BANANA. I say “hey, calm down… I don’t have a banana but I have this peach here”. *Kid looks at the peach suspiciously.* BUT I WANTED THE BANANA. I point out, calmly of course… “you did not want the banana until you saw that someone else had it.” The child responds with the only logical conclusion “you just love them more than me”.

The topic of sex roles often take on a very similar tone. Interestingly enough, both sexes accuse the other of having it “better” than the opposite sex. Anti-traditionalist men will say that women make men “beasts of burden”. Anti-traditionalist women say that men use their so-called “headship” to oppress their wives. 

The biggest difference between happy people and unhappy people is that despite what each person objectively has, the happy people choose to love what they have. They don’t lament the banana they don’t have when they have ripe peach instead. 

I can’t speak for the blessings of being a traditionalist man because I am not one. But for all the women who say that the domestic life of a traditionalist woman is oppressively narrow and stifling I offer this quote:

To be Queen Elizabeth within a definite area, deciding sales, banquets, labours, and holidays; to be Whitely within a certain area, providing toys, boots, cakes and books; to be Aristotle within a certain area, teaching morals, manners, theology, and hygiene; I can imagine how this can exhaust the mind, but I cannot imagine how it could narrow it. How can it be a large career to tell other people about the Rule of Three, and a small career to tell one’s own children about the universe? How can it be broad to be the same thing to everyone and narrow to be everything to someone? No, a woman’s function is laborious, but because it is gigantic, not because it is minute.” -GK Chesterton



Posted in: Religion