Virtual Dilemma

Posted on August 4, 2011 by


People who need people really are the luckiest people in the world. As much as it pains me to quote Barbara Streisand, she had a point.

A recent study has shown that Internet addiction is a growing problem. From the Daily Mail (h/t: In Mala Fide):

A new study has revealed that 53 per cent feel upset when denied access and 40 per cent feel lonely if they are unable to go online.

The research found that people experience these feelings even if denied online access for a short time.

The study was carried out by consumer research firm Intersperience, who surveyed over 1,000 people.

Participants were quizzed on their attitudes to the use of the internet, smart phones, and other devices, and were even asked to go 24 hours without any access to internet technology.

Giving up all technology allowing web access was described by some participants as similar to quitting drinking or smoking.

One person surveyed even said being deprived of the internet was ‘like having my hand chopped off’.

In an age where the most stimulating intellectual conversations are often had online, where  thousands of women harvest the sperm of men to impregnate themselves without ever having to deal with the interdependency and cooperation of relationships, and MRA’s look forward to artificial wombs to enjoy the joys of fatherhood minus the perils of marriage 2.0, flesh and blood relationships are still, in my opinion the only way human beings can truly grow and thrive emotionally, psychologically, and spiritually.

I wonder if I’d go through withdrawal if I suddenly found myself with no Internet access. I’d like to say I wouldn’t, but I’m not certain. Clearly  I spend  a fair amount of time online. However, I do believe there are things you can do, things I practice, to ensure that your dependency on all things technological isn’t interfering with you ability to live real life:

  • Completely unplug at least one day a week. For me, that day is usually Sunday
  • Talk to (no texting) at least one person per day who doesn’t live in your house. This one is a easy for me because I get phone calls from sisters and friends daily. They worry about my limited life.
  • Walk around your neighborhood (assuming it’s safe) and speak to at least one neighbor, if only briefly
  • Invite someone over for dinner at least once a month (or out to dinner if you can’t cook).
  • If possible, get together or exchange numbers with longtime virtual friends.

It is very easy to spend hours online nurturing the facade of  relationships with strangers on the Internet. It’s also very stimulating to engage in conversation about topics that don’t come up as often in our daily interactions because we’re so involved in the daily grind. The Internet has it’s place in modern life. However, it shouldn’t take the place of living life itself. And for that, you need other people.

Posted in: Relationships