The young wife

Posted on August 21, 2011 by


There’s a lot of talk in the Tradosphere about “extended adolescence” and “delayed marriage”. I always join in, of course, as I didn’t get to “party through my 20s”. I was engaged at 22 and a mother at 24. That was once considered “normal marriage age” for a woman, but things have changed dramatically since then.

Now I am the “odd one out”. I’m usually the youngest mother (by far, sometimes by a span of 10 years) in every maternity ward, playgroup, or school function. I’ve actually had people at my son’s school ask me if I were a student there!

Young, young, young. Although my age might not seem so astonishing to those of the lower and lower-middle classes, I am a rare bird indeed in the circles that I travel in. Most of the other mothers have college degrees (including postgraduates), and hardly any married before 26, with kids not arriving until the early 30s.

What does that mean? That means that I am the only woman anywhere I go who didn’t have much of an adolescence. I’m still quite immature and shallow in comparison, I’m temperamental and moody, and I’m still slightly wild. I didn’t get to party, work, hang out with friends, wear youthful clothes, or travel in my youth. My youth was spent changing diapers, lying in hospital beds, wearing maternity dresses, and schlepping my children around to therapists and play groups.

Just saying.

Posted in: Relationships