Reading the Bible chronologically

Posted on September 14, 2011 by

For anyone who hasn’t done it yet, I heartily recommend reading the Bible in chronological order. This really helped me to understand Biblical history and to focus on the narrative. The method I used was to read the following books in order:

  1. Genesis
  2. Exodus
  3. Numbers
  4. Joshua
  5. Judges
  6. 1 Samuel
  7. 2 Samuel
  8. 1 Kings
  9. 2 Kings
  10. Ezra
  11. Esther
  12. Nehemiah
  13. 1 Maccabees (Deuterocanonical )
  14. Luke
  15. Acts

For those of you who have already done so, who would like more detail, or who (like me) prefer to have everything pre-chewed for you, I would recommend purchasing a chronological Bible. I’ve just bought a One-year Chronological Bible, and I’m enjoying the structure immensely. It’s written in the NIV translation, while I usually prefer the Ignatius one, but I’m concentrating mostly on the narrative so I don’t mind their wording.

I find it clear and easy to read, and the daily passages are about 15-30 minutes in length, which fits well into my early-morning routine. They have a Catholic version available with the deuterocanonical books, but they just tack them on at the end and that’s rather fiddly.

Posted in: Book Review, Religion