Lone Ranger Homemakers

Posted on September 27, 2011 by


In a previous thread derailment, we were discussing the number of hours worked by the husbands in our traditional marriages. As has been noted elsewhere, male providers tend to spend more time working than men who share the breadwinning with their wives.

In my own life, I find that this can create a certain dissonance. On the one hand, this is clearly my husband’s castle. He looms large in our lives and he’s sorely missed when he is working. On the other hand, there’s a strong temptation for me to exclude him from many of the more mundane tasks and chores around the house, which eventually sidelines him into a pure breadwinning role. I want to alleviate his burden at home, but if I overdo it, he gets pushed out of his rightful place at the head of the table.

So tell me: how do you square that circle in your own homes?

Posted in: Homemaking