Best Friends With Her Husband’s Ex?

Posted on December 8, 2011 by


Well maybe “best friends” is a bit much. But I ran across this column titled  Ex-Etiquette, in my local newspaper. It’s also a website  authored by two women,  the new wife and ex-wife of the same man, called Bonus Families. I find it a curious endeavor.

On the one hand, I think it might be helpful for the thousands of people already in blended families dealing with ex-spouses. On the other hand, I can’t help but wonder if this paints an unrealistically rosy picture of the blended family dynamic. How many wives and ex-wives can work together like this on even the most mundane matters without occasional times of stress?

Even the title sounds rosy: Bonus Families. For those already in the situation, I have no doubt it may be helpful. The flip side is that it gives those not yet in the situation the false picture that it’ll be much easier than it really is.

Thoughts?

Posted in: Relationships