Losing more than just weight?

Posted on December 8, 2011 by


Over the course of this year, I’ve learned that losing weight can suck. The hardest part isn’t changing my eating habits, exercising more, partaking in more physically-inclined activities, or drinking more water– it’s doing it alone.

I was watching a documentary called “Good Meat” on a Native American man who decided to try a weight-loss plan developed by his doctor and it detailed his progress over 6-8 months. He lived with his 3 sisters, and they all had children. As this man changed his eating habits, became more active, and noticed the weight coming off he said something that resonated with me (paraphrased):

“I feel like I’m experiencing a drift, and there’s this sense of me separating from everyone else.”

I’ve lost 20 pounds since early spring, and I’ve been able to keep it off since. Along the way, I’ve noticed the way people change because I’ve “changed”. It hasn’t always been a good response, either. I’m careful to not appear imposing when I’d go out to eat with friends or talk about an activity we’d do together, but at times I could tell there was something about me which was intimidating.

In your attempts to be healthy and/or lose weight, have you experienced any rifts between yourself and others?

Posted in: Uncategorized