The invisible Great Recession

Posted on December 13, 2011 by


Hawaiian libertarian has an interesting post up concerning the Great Depression 2.0 (or, as I like to call it, the Great Recession).

I was in agreement with Vox back when he first began predicting this. I’ve been calling it “Great Depression 2.0” to my family, friends and acquaintances for a couple of years now. Many of them laughed when I first began using the phrase. Many no longer laugh when they hear me use it…and a few have begun using it themselves.

Yet many folks still remain oblivious. They don’t understand what the huge fuss is. Things SEEM to be not too bad.

I’ve noticed the same thing. If I bring up the recession, I immediately encounter looks of surprise and confusion, “What recession? I thought the recession was already over?”

As someone who is following the economic data closely, this is always a bizarre and surreal experience. How can so many people not notice what is going on? Don’t they see the effect all around them, just as I do? But then I realize, most people think feminism is great, that we have two distinct political parties, and that the American dollar reigns supreme and always will. In other words, most people have drunk so deeply of the kool-aid that they’ve entered into a parallel universe.

We’re running on hopium now. Sobering up is going to totally suck.