Mark Driscoll is Making Waves

Posted on February 15, 2012 by


Mark Driscoll is in the news lately.  He has a new book out about marriage and a sermon series that relates to the book.  I have not read the book but I have seen most of the “Real Marriage” sermons.  So far most of what I have seen has been pro-traditional marriage roles.  His sermon on the “Respectful Wife” pulls no punches.

As a Catholic I am not always in agreement with his Calvinist theology but as a traditionalist-leaning Catholic I find myself in disagreement with what comes from supposedly Catholic sources quite often, as well.  Despite theological differences, preachers who are willing to bravely approach the topic of gender roles have my support.  There are not enough of them anymore as many have been browbeat into submission by their female congregants “sensitive” natures.  In our day and age of overly feminized Christianity I think it is important that we don’t throw the baby out with the bathwater or we risk having no allies at all.

You can watch his sermon series here:
http://marshill.com/media/real-marriage

He has also been in the news for another controversial act-  demanding accountability for congregants sins.  

 

Posted in: Uncategorized