Faith

Posted on June 16, 2012 by


2 Peter 1: 5-7 And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; and to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness; and to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity.

Let us make our list of virtues to start:  diligence, faith, virtue, knowledge, temperance, patience, godliness, brotherly kindness, and charity.    There are other Biblical virtues to consider, but we have to start somewhere.

Faith

 

From Strong’s Concordance:  persuasion, that is, credence; moral conviction (of religious truth, or the truthfulness of God or a religious teacher), especially reliance upon Christ for salvation; abstractly constancy in such profession; by extension the system of religious (Gospel) truth itself: – assurance, belief, believe, faith, fidelity.

Faith – belief in God, and in the truth of His revelation as well as obedience to Him  (wiki)

1.  confidence or trust in a person or thing: faith in another’s ability.

2.  belief that is not based on proof: He had faith that the hypothesis would be substantiated by fact.

3.  belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religion: the firm faith of the Pilgrims.

4.  belief in anything, as a code of ethics, standards of merit, etc.: to be of the same faith with someone concerning honesty.

5.  a system of religious belief: the Christian faith; the Jewish faith. (Dictionary.reference.com)

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

Oh wow.  Talk about timely posts to write…

Faith – believing in things that you cannot see, that you cannot influence.   Again I’m hit between the eyes.  Until this week, I would have said that I am a woman of faith.   After all, I rely completely on God and His provision for my salvation.  I rely completely on Him for my daily life.  I look around me and see the evidence of His handiwork in everything, and I am grateful.

But faith as a virtue is not merely saving faith, it is daily faith.  When one has been diligent in one’s tasks, does one have the faith to leave the results to God?  I can see here why these virtues build on one another.  First – you do what you’ve been asked to do.  Second – you trust God to do what He has chosen to do with the results of your labor.

1 Corinthians 3:6-9  I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase.  So then neither is he that planteth any thing, neither he that watereth; but God that giveth the increase.  Now he that planteth and he that watereth are one: and every man shall receive his own reward according to his own labour.  For we are labourers together with God: ye are God’s husbandry, ye are God’s building.

It’s odd, isn’t it – that it is somehow easier to trust God with eternity than to trust Him with “our” stuff?  Our beloved unsaved?  Our pet projects?  Our reputations?

I see this as a call to a deeper prayer life.  A life where I make my petitions to God, and then have faith in Him to see them through.  A prayer life where I am diligent to bring everything in my life to God, and trust Him with everything.  A life where I don’t keep things to myself, don’t give them up to God and then take them back because I’m afraid His answer will be “No” or because I don’t have the patience to wait for His timing.  I know that His timing is perfect and that He loves me and will not deny me anything that I ask in His will… so a lack of faith is a lack of obedience.

Is my faith in myself?  Then I am doomed to failure and pain and sadness.

Is my faith in God?  Then I am granted peace, joy, and hope.

This is the call – to not only place our faith in Christ for our eternal souls, but for everything else as well.  To start with diligence – doing what we are called to do and then to rest the results in the hands of our Creator, Savior, and King.

Posted in: Religion