Why I still vote

Posted on November 6, 2012 by


As an outspoken and unabashed political misanthrope, as well as an avowed reactionary, I am often asked, “Why do you even bother to vote?” I cannot, in good conscience, vote for either major political party, and the entire system has become a complete farce. So why put in the effort to drag myself to the polls and make my mark?

Because it’s our tradition, stupid.

Because my male relatives, going back to Antebellum South Carolina, have been fighting and dying and marching and protesting for the right to vote. For the ability to voice their opinion through the ballot box. I’m going to continue to vote, the same way I continue to take my children to church on Sunday, the same way I bake Christmas cookies during Advent, the same way that I married.

Even if it’s pointless. Even if I just show up and say, “None of the above.” Even if I’d rather the politicians would all put themselves out of their misery rather than disgrace our country with their leadership… I will continue to vote. Until you take my ballot out of my cold, dead hand.

It doesn’t have to make any sense. Perhaps, in the short term, it is even counter-productive, stupid, or downright silly. But I vote to honor those men. I vote because sometimes pietas is the higher virtue.

That is why.