Mental Fitness Routine

Posted on January 16, 2013 by


I reached a dubious milestone in 2012. I read far more commentary from online sources than books. Now, depending on what you read, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing. C.S. Lewis is great writing whether you read him via Kindle or from a book. However, that’s not what I’m referring to. I am referring to something far more detrimental to my mental fitness. I wasn’t reading great books on a Kindle.  I was reading online commentary offered via blogs, news outlets, political and financial websites.

Each of these is useful in their own way, but I feel much less reflective, thoughtful, and settled when I forgo the experience of turning the pages of a book, or writing my thoughts and prayers in a journal. Technology is wonderful, but it has its limitations; and its costs.

I resolved long ago to make no resolutions at the beginning of the New Year. If something needs to be done, better to just do it. To that end, last month I began gathering a collection of books I want to read and reflect on going forward.

I also decided to return to a practice that I walked away from last year. After many years of being unplugged on Sundays, I found that one exception to the boundary lead to two, then three, and before I knew it, Sunday became as plugged in as every other day.

These are books I have either read in the past two months, or plan to read over the next several months. I hope to offer a review for some as I read. I’m opening comments on this post because I want to receive book recommendations from readers.

Theology:

Education:

Homemaking:

Health/Nutrition:

General Interest/Enjoyment:

*Books that I’ve recently read, or have  read before and  desire to revisit.

So, what are you reading?

Posted in: Education