Daughters of the King

Posted on February 7, 2013 by


If we are Christian women, then we are daughters of the King. How does a Princess of the Realm act?

Well, she doesn’t act like a “princess”, that’s for sure. I got tired of typing “daughter of the King” out in my first draft, but “princess”… that calls up a whole pile of nonsense and untruth. Because there is no way that I’m acting like a member of my Father’s family if I’m being prissy or egotistical or refusing to do what needs doing.

We have, presumably, all heard the story about the child of the owner who was the owner’s entire representation on this earth. When she was kind, the employees believed the owner to be kind – when she was rude, that’s what they believed of the owner. So it is with us as Christians. Many around us will never know anything of Christ except what we show them, and there are far too many who claim Christ who don’t act it. We have no excuse for not merely being Christians, but being Christians very loudly.

This means noblesse oblige and acting with honor. Helping those around you and treating everyone with dignity. Fully completing your contracts, giving 100% and never shirking.

It means working from a place of strength. This is… misunderstandable. A princess isn’t a princess because of herself, she’s a princess because her daddy is the king. So are we – we are daughters of God because of God, not because of *us* – but that doesn’t make us worms. We have been raised up, changed, made into new creations – because He chose that for us.

Dignity and honor should be our watchwords. Are we acting with honor, in a way that will bring praise to our Father? Are we inhabiting our dignity, resting in the certainty of who we are as new creations?

There is no shame in being as pretty as we are. Last time I checked, I didn’t specify the width of my cheekbones prior to being born. Did you? Just because we aren’t supposed to be flippertigibbits, obsessed with externals, doesn’t mean we can’t get up, get pretty, and go on with our day. In fact, there’s no shame in inhabiting whatever we’ve been made stewards over.

It’s time to get up, put on the mantle that I’ve been *given*, and wear it. I didn’t make myself, I didn’t save myself, I didn’t sanctify myself – so standing up straight doesn’t say anything about ME – it says something about my Father. “I’m not worthy” – well, no, I’m not. And? I’ve been made new in Christ, and it’s time to start acting like it. I don’t have to shame myself to continually remind myself of my unworthy nature – because that’s twisted pride. That’s putting the focus on my weaknesses, not His strengths. Jesus freed me from those chains, and I’ve been carrying them around like a security blanket.

I can’t be lovely if I’m whacking myself with the shame stick. *I* didn’t make myself pretty, God did. Hiding that is … refusing the gift I’ve been given. It’s taking away from my husband, who is entitled to a pretty wife. It’s taking away from part of who I am.

It is, likewise, surrendering what light I have to offer, to say that being a Princess (the right way) isn’t important. That a smile, a thank you, the small grace notes that we can offer as women, that these things are meaningless. I don’t want to be pretty outside and forget to be pretty inside – and I don’t want to be selfish. I must also remind myself that Princesses are confident in their kindess, not stepping back out of fear. Have you indulged yourself by reading old books? Have you never been inspired by the example of a Christian lady?

This world needs us to be inspirations, to show the Light that is in us. Our world is in desperate, desperate need. It’s time to be lovely.

…………
This was originally published on my To Be Lovely blog in February of 2012. It has been slightly edited and expanded.