My thyroid on a diet

Posted on April 18, 2013 by


I’ve been asked how I managed to get my thyroid issues under control without medication, so I’d like to elaborate here. For clarification, I’ll say that the symptoms and the test results improved, but I still have some symptoms, so the disease is still there in latent form and I suspect that it will continue to worsen over time. It is just that I managed to stave off the meds for longer, my cholesterol is low, I’m much thinner, and I feel healthier and more energetic than before. My period is shorter and lighter, and there are fewer days where I can barely get out of bed in the morning.

In general, I reduced my portion-sizes by about a third, and increased the amount of protein and fat in my diet, which crowded out most of the carbs. This was much harder than it sounds because my husband and children are total carb-junkies and our house is packed full of wheat products. I’m constantly having to eat “special food”, which is depressing and hard to maintain over time. But I do give it a good-faith effort.

Although I feel better, I still don’t feel normal (I don’t know if I’ve ever felt normal, as I’ve been chronically ill since childhood), so I think I’m going to bite the bullet and eliminate gluten from my diet next. As in, completely. As in, becoming that annoying person at every restaurant and get-together who is asking, “Is there any gluten in this?” Thyroid problems tend to be comorbid with Celiac disease (and ADHD, high-functioning autism, lactose intolerance, diabetes, and a gazillion other things, as they’re all related to the immune system), so there might be some room for improvement there.

Once I get used to that, I might start removing dairy. I’m putting that last, even though it has the most potential, just because I freaking love me some dairy.

And then I’ll just cry because I’ve removed everything fun from my diet. *sigh*

Posted in: Homemaking