The virtuous hunger

Posted on April 23, 2013 by


Well, I’ve gone gluten-free, despite my husband’s eye-rolling, and I already feel a bit calmer, but one further change I’ve made has been instituting a real fast day in my week. Every week, all year.

I’ve decided to be really Catholic about it, and stick to Fridays, since I already give up meat on that day and that makes it easy to remember and allows me feel all holy about it. I always feel more physically fit and alert during Lent, which makes me think that I just eat too darn much the rest of the year.

I skipped breakfast, ate a bowl of grits for lunch at around 12:30 pm, and then had a light dinner of fish and veggies at about 6 pm. Around 5:30 pm, I started to feel this strange sensation in my stomach, and then I realized that it was hunger. Haven’t felt that in a while. Very interesting.

I woke up the next morning, two pounds lighter, and with a stomach so flat that it was nearly concave. A lot of my excess weight must be water and a backed-up digestive system that can’t handle all the food I stuff down there. My appetite didn’t increase the next day at all, the weight has stayed off, and I’m looking forward to repeating the act next Friday.

That is all.

Posted in: Homemaking