A day in the life of a homemaker

Posted on May 3, 2013 by


It’s that time of year again. About once per year, I post a run-down of a typical, stay-at-home day in my house. It’s not exactly exciting reading, but I well remember my trepidation at becoming a homemaker, and how avidly I’d read through such accounts to find out what in the world such a person does all day.

So, here goes:

  • Drag myself out of bed and immediately begin sneezing and rubbing my eyes. Allergy season again, yippee!
  • Go get the newspaper, make coffee, and dish out breakfast.
  • Kiss hubby farewell, clear up breakfast dishes, and get dressed.
  • Vegetate on the computer while drinking my second cup of coffee. I still don’t really feel awake, but oh well.
  • Make the beds and sort the laundry for washing while they watch Donald Duck cartoons. Six loads, which is pretty typical.
  • Send the kids off to get dressed, bring in the milk and eggs, and take out the trash.
  • Finish my daughter’s kindergarten homework and practice presenting her research project on clown fish. Start my son on his multiplication tables and hand him a stack of books to work through.
  • Do some more laundry.
  • Serve an early lunch. Nobody eats anything because we’re all sniffling and puffy-eyed and miserable.
  • Drive daughter to school and return to finish lessons with son.
  • Do some more laundry.
  • Pick up daughter from school and send kids out into the backyard to play in the sandbox. The weather is great! Spring is finally here.
  • They come back in and vegetate for a while, and then we bake German butter cookies with lemon frosting. I’m not big on wheat, but my compromise with hubby is that we bake something sweet&wheat once-per-week and I’m not allowed to nag about it. I’ve decided it counts as math lessons, which soothes my conscience.
  • Do some more laundry.
  • Children try to play with my daughter’s wooden castle, but they’re both cranky and it quickly ends in a mutual time-out. Mommy loves time-out and sometimes wishes she could put herself in time-out.
  • I prepare a math quiz for my students to take and email it out to them. Darn formula editor.
  • They go back to playing, this time she’s busy with her dolls while he builds something with LEGOs. I’m relaxing on the couch, feeling guilty because I’m too mindless now to study my Bible. Should have done it this morning instead of zombie-ing out to economics blogs. Need to get back to my good habits.
  • Kids decide to head outside to play soccer.
  • Do some more laundry. Laundry is the chore that just keeps on giving.
  • Fix dinner and serve it when hubby gets home. Don’t eat any because… achoo! I call it “the allergy diet”.
  • Hubby plays soccer with the kids while I go for a walk around the block.
  • Do some more laundry and clean up the dinner dishes.
  • Read aloud to the kids and practice phonics with the little one.
  • Bedtime baths and then I collapse on the couch with a novel I’ve been working through at a glacial pace while hubby finishes them for bed.
  • Get woken up by hubby at 10:30 pm. Bedtime for mommy.
Posted in: Homemaking