While we are on the topic of blogs…

Posted on May 4, 2013 by


While we are on the topic of blogs, I have decided to type up a post on the blogs I have read in the past, as I gradually moved to the right.

My first really right leaning blog was Dr. Dan Abotts tdaxp, which is on going to this day and is published at tdaxp.com I think it was the blog that first informed me of View From the Right and the Thinking Housewife, my next two obsessions. I remember it most for his article The Petty Troika, an interesting piece on the nature of liberal education and it’s relationship to traditional culture. It has certainly been a formative aspect of traditionalist thought for my mind.

View from the Right was an interesting blog, who’s author Lawrence Auster recently died from cancer, sadly enough. He was a big time race realist, a major immigration opponent, and certainly controversial. Nevertheless, one of his books is in the pipeline to be published, and he is warmly remembered by many on his part of the political spectrum. I never exchanged that many words with him, but they were interesting exchanges.

Then of course their is the refreshing and high brow Thinking Housewife, which is maintained and edited by Laura Wood, a Christian traditionalist housewife.  I can’t say I always agree with her attitudes towards race or other areas, but I am nevertheless a big fan of her writing and many others who send comments to her.

I am also interested in Japanese culture and society. I regularly read blogs that discuss this, two of them associated with tdaxp: Mutant Frog Travelogue, and Coming Anarchy. The latter is rarely updated, and has not been since last year, but it has a lot of information on foreign and political relations. It does have something of a Neocon bias, but that is sadly just how things work out nowadays.

Another blog I still enjoy, and regularly read is Neojaponisme. It is an excellent blog on social, economic, and cultural issues related to Japan. It does at times make a bit too many non patriarchal assumptions, but that seems to be par for the course. Other than that is does a good job skewering the kinds of assumptions and stereotypes many have about contemporary Japanese society, such as the girly pop music, (which only geeks might actually be buying) and discusses the working class subcultures that are starting to get an upper hand in Japanese pop media today. I find it an interesting read, although I know it will not be everyone’s cup of tea.

Also, we cannot forget Orthosphere, a blog that basically folds together the writing of Kalb’s Turnabout and other bloggers who have combined forces to make one of the better traditionalist blogs out there.

And, then of course there is Traditional Christianity, which is where you are at right now and which will continue to be a home for my writing for the foreseeable future. Well, everyone, let’s discuss!