The New Evangelization goes to Europe

Posted on May 13, 2013 by


I’ve been a bit down on moving back to Europe lately, and this weekend I decided to ask the Holy Spirit for guidance and a bit more information. Normally, this should also be the first thing I do, but I don’t learn so fast.

And I stared out the window and saw myself saying heartfelt goodbye to my wonderful pastor, our spirit-filled lay ministers, and the clever and earnest children I was blessed to instruct on the catechism. Then I broke down in tears at our co-op graduation ceremony and hugged my teacher friends and turned to face the disappearing faith of my Vaterland.

What was I going to do there? Where would I go to connect with other members of the Church? Was this Providence? Well, isn’t everything Providence, in the end? Isn’t that what Providence means?

Yo, Holy Spirit, wassup?

And then I thought: Oh duh. God put me right in the middle of one of the most vibrant Catholic communities in the whole world for an intense five-year stint, and now He’s sending me off to a mission field. Maybe this was all just a time of instruction and now it’s going to be my chance to put it to good use.

Thanks, Holy Spirit. If nothing else, that cheered me up.

Peace out.

Posted in: Religion