Living with less

Posted on June 18, 2013 by


I’ve been aggressively decluttering our home in preparation for selling it, and now I don’t want to sell it anymore. We were both sitting there, looking around, and it hit us that the worst thing about the house had been all of our junk.

Don’t worry, we’re not changing our plans, but I just wanted to say that the easiest and cheapest way to make a house enjoyable to live in is to pare it down to the bare minimum of everything and then give it all new linens and a fresh coat of paint.

I know this is a repeat, but I’m just overwhelmed by how much better it looks and how much more usable the space is now. Even my kitchen cabinets were greatly improved by a thorough clearing, my bookshelves look elegant now that they’re no longer stuffed full, and my closet looks gigantic now that there’s hardly anything in it.

Posted in: Homemaking