1947. When People Got Dressed

Posted on June 21, 2013 by


My husband and I saw the movie 42 recently, and I was so enamored with the fashion that I could barely appreciate the film, set in 1947. Women wore dresses and pumps to the ball park. The men wore shirts and ties. It was intoxicating to me, all the care that was put into presenting oneself well and with dignity, and I’m not even a particularly formal dresser. I enjoy my sundresses and sandals.

As I watched I wondered who decided that slovenly is necessarily more comfortable, and that the quickest route from the bed to the door is the best one. And then I looked at myself and realized that I had encased my hair in a clip of some sort every day for the past week. No curls, no extra effort, just twist it up clip it and go.

I tried to make up for it wearing dresses and dangly earrings because big earring look better with up dos, but I was taking the short cut. No amount of lip gloss was going to change that. It is very easy to get into a rut, especially when your husband is too busy to really look and pause long enough to ask “What’s up?”

Since it’s Friday, I figured I’d lighten things up with a bit of vintage fashion inspiration.

42 wife

The first photo is the actress who played Jackie Robinson’s wife in the film. She’s gorgeous, but  more importantly, look at how the people at the ball park are dressed!

1940 fashion

No frump here, and that yellow dress is divine. Next up: Hats!

of another fashion1940s-war-ration-fashion1

I saw this last one and immediately thought of our resident expert on all things beautiful:turquoise 1940's

Consider this the TC shallow fashion blog of the week. Have a great weekend!

Posted in: Homemaking